The shortlist for the 2018 Isle of Man Sports Awards sponsored by Microgaming PlayItForward, has been announced today (21st February 2019).

The event which will take place on Thursday 4th April 2019 at the Royal Hall, Villa Marina, will look back on 2018 and recognise athletes for their successful sporting achievements.

Gary Corkhill, Executive Chairman at Isle of Man Sport, said:

‘This year's committee faced a difficult task when shortlisting for this year's Sports Awards. 2018 was a fantastic year in Sport for the Isle of Man, with numerous competitions taking place both locally and internationally. We were pleasantly surprised to see such a broad range of sports that local athletes are competing in on a global stage, resulting in us seeing a number of lesser known sporting disciplines and names shortlisted for this year's event.'

This year's awards include 11 categories, including the Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year.

Shortlisted for the Sportsman of the Year award category for 2018 are 2017 category winner and 2nd in E2 World Enduro Jamie McCanney, 2018 British Enduro Champion Daniel McCanney, Commonwealth silver medallist in double trap shooting Tim Kneale, 2nd in TT Superbike race & 3rd in TT Senior race Conor Cummins, 2nd in both TT Sidecar 1 and TT Sidecar 2 races Lee Cain, ‘King of the Mountain' in the Tour of Switzerland Mark Christian, and boxer Danny Roberts, who turned professional in 2018 and remains unbeaten.

Shortlisted for the Sportswoman of the Year award category for 2018 are Commonwealth Games 100m butterfly athlete Charlotte Atkinson, Commonwealth Games cyclist and winner of the Most Active Rider on Stage One of the Tour De Yorkshire Anna Christian, 2018 record breaking athlete Rachel Franklin, four time consecutive Winter Olympic snowboarding competitor Zoe Gillings-Brier, Time Trial Commonwealth Games cyclist Elizabeth Holden, 2* league winner equestrian rider Yasmin Ingham, race walker and Commonwealth Games competitor Erika Kelly, and GB Carriage Driving team member who finished 1st at International 3* Haras du Pin in France Libby Priest.

The event also includes the presentation of the 2018 Sure Sports Leader of the Year Award and Sports Aid scholarships to athletes who will be supported by Isle of Man Sport Aid in 2019/20120.

Guest of honour at the awards is Olympic and Commonwealth Long Jump champion, Greg Rutherford MBE.

The event starts at 8.15pm. Tickets are available to book online via the Villa Gaiety box office.

Full list of nominees

2018 Sportsman of the Year, sponsored by Microgaming PlayItForward

  • Lee Cain (motorcycling)
  • Mark Christian (cycling)
  • Conor Cummins (motorcycling)
  • Tim Kneale (shooting)
  • Daniel McCanney (enduro)
  • Jamie McCanney (enduro)
  • Danny Roberts (boxing)

2018 Sportswoman of the Year, sponsored by Microgaming PlayItForward

  • Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)
  • Anna Christian (cycling)
  • Rachael Franklin (athletics)
  • Zoe Gillings-Brier (snowboarding)
  • Elizabeth Holden (cycling)
  • Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)
  • Erika Kelly (race walking)
  • Libby Priest (equestrian)

2018 Under 21 Sportsman of the Year, sponsored by SMP Partners

  • Nathan Harrison (motorcycling)
  • Adam Long (football)
  • Nino Ontoy (Taekwondo)
  • Dean Pinnington (football)
  • Bevan Rodd (rugby)
  • Shaun Wylde (weightlifting)

2018 Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year, sponsored by Newfield

  • Charlotte Clarke (tennis)
  • Sinead Cox (equestrian)
  • Ana Dawson (golf)
  • Olivia Marshall (swimming)
  • Amelia Sharpe (cycling)
  • Sophie Taylor (equestrian)
  • Nan Williams (netball)

2018 Disability Sportsperson of the Year, sponsored by Keystone Law

  • Chloe Chadwick (equestrian)
  • Letisha Ellis (swimming)
  • Ben Grainger (swimming)
  • Sean Jackson (football)
  • Zoe Lambie (race walking)
  • Chris Mitchell (motorcycling)
  • Karl Monaghan (Special Olympics)

2018 Sports Team of the Year, sponsored by Conister Bank

  • IOM Athletics Northern League Team (athletics)
  • IOM Ladies Hockey Team (hockey)
  • IOM Senior Netball Team (netball)
  • IOM Under 17's Netball Team (netball)
  • Manx Harriers Ladies Team (athletics)
  • Ramsey Ladies Hockey Team (hockey)

2018 Sports Administrator of the Year, sponsored by Isle of Man Newspapers

  • Petra Atchison (athletics)
  • Leonie Cooil (Commonwealth Games)
  • Gary Cooper (cycling)
  • Debbie Shimmin (hockey)
  • Richie Stevenson (fell running)
  • Robbie Watterson (athletics)

2018 IOM Sports Ambassador, sponsored by the Department for Enterprise

  • Sam Brand (cycling)
  • Mark Cavendish (cycling)
  • Philip Cringle (rugby)
  • Tom Gandy (golf)
  • Zoe Gillings-Brier (snowboarding)
  • Caroline Whitehead (badminton)

2018 Sports Coach of the Year, sponsor Manx Radio

  • Claire Battye (netball)
  • Chris Brannigan (rugby)
  • Jamie Brown (hockey)
  • Steve Partington (athletics)
  • Ian Watson (tennis)
  • John Whitlow (athletics)

2018 Veteran Sportsperson of the Year, sponsored by Crowe Isle of Man

  • Adrian Beale (mountain biking)
  • Karen Chiarello (athletics)
  • Gianni Epifani (athletics)
  • Gail Griffiths (athletics)
  • Clive McGreal (Lawn Bowls)
  • Janet Monk (Crown Green Bowls)
  • Hannah Riley (athletics)

2018 Lifetime Achievement, sponsored by Mylchreests Group

The recipient of this award is selected by the Sports Awards committee.