Isle of Man Sport Aid has announced that it will be supporting fifty-eight local athletes through the 2019/20 Isle of Man Sport Aid Scholarship programme.

The scholarship works in conjunction with the Isle of Man's Strategy for Sport where it aims to highlight the success of sport to promote the Isle of Man and fulfil the potential of talented performers on the world stage.

Chairman of Isle of Man Sport Aid, Sarah Corlett, said:

‘A great number of current and former Sport Aid recipients have gone on to compete at the highest levels within their sport, including World Championships, Commonwealth and Olympic Games. We have a variety of athletes who compete in a wide number of sports and by supporting them through this scholarship we can assist them to achieve their full potential.
‘We would like to thanks our third party sponsors who provide such valuable support to the programme. All money provided by them goes directly towards helping our athletes. In addition to the organisations and individuals sponsoring scholarships for this year's Sport Aid programme, we'd like to thank SMP Partners and Newfield for their continued sponsorship of the very successful Sport Aid Academy Programme.'

IOM Sport Aid is also continuing into the second year of its ‘Sport Aid Target Tokyo' plan, which aims to prepare four chosen athletes; Charlotte Atkinson (swimming), Anna Christian (cycling), Joe Harris (athletics), and Erika Kelly (athletics), as they make their push towards selection for Team GB at the next Olympic Games. This support is tailored to the athlete's training plans in the run up to the 2020 Olympics and will hopefully see these recipients wearing the Team GB colours in Tokyo.

Isle of Man Sport Aid is a registered charity and has played a vital role in supporting the development of many of the Island's sports stars over the past 20 years.

The athletes will receive their scholarships at the annual Isle of Man Sports Award event, which is being held on Thursday 4th April 2019, at the Villa Marina. Tickets are available from

2019/20 Scholarship Recipients

Duke Scholarships

  • Danny McCanney (enduro)
  • Jamie McCanney (enduro)

TLC Business Solutions Scholarship

  • Sean Jackson (football)

CTH Insurance Scholarship

  • Archie Collis (judo)

Top Spec Fencing Scholarship

  • Ben Batchelor (sailing)

Tower Insurance Scholarships

  • Rachael Franklin (athletics)
  • Tom Gandy (golf)

Ramsey Crookall & Co Scholarship

  • Chloe Chadwick (equestrian)

Nedgroup Investments Scholarships

  • Conor Davies (cycling)
  • Hannah Howitt (triathlon)

JR Moore Trust Scholarship

  • Laura Kinley (swimming)

Elizabeth Clucas Charitable Trust Scholarships

  • Chloe Donnelly (gymnastics)
  • Georgia Foxton (hockey)
  • Joel Watterson (swimming)

Hadrian's Charity Scholarships

  • Peter Allen (swimming)
  • Amelia Sharpe (cycling)

Aston International Scholarship

  • Brandon Cain (snowboarding)
  • Emma Hodgson (swimming)

Albert Gubay Foundation - 'Chase Your Dream'

  • Jonty Cope (rugby)
  • Ben Grainger (swimming)
  • Elizabeth Holden (cycling)
  • David Mullarkey (athletics)
  • Tom Partington (race walking)
  • Glen Quayle (athletics)
  • Joseph Reid (athletics)

Cavendish Scholarships

  • To be confirmed

Target Tokyo Recipients

  • Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)
  • Anna Christian (cycling)
  • Joe Harris (athletics)
  • Erika Kelly (athletics)

IOM Sport Aid Recipients

  • Matthew Bostock (cycling)
  • Sam Brand (cycling)
  • Nicole Burns (gymnastics)
  • Mark Christian (cycling)
  • Spencer Cope (rugby)
  • William Corkill (cycling)
  • Philip Cringle (rugby)
  • Ana Dawson (golf)
  • Lea Dawson (golf)
  • Ella Doherty (motorcycle trials)
  • Nathan Draper (cycling)
  • William Draper (triathlon)
  • Freya Duchars (hockey)
  • Jed Etchells (enduro)
  • Michael Evans (motorcycling)
  • Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)
  • Michael Jackson (motorcycling)
  • Thomas Knight (enduro)
  • Jessica Li (badminton)
  • Ollie Lockley (athletics)
  • Euan MacMurchie (swimming)
  • Olivia Marshall (swimming)
  • Leon Mazzone (cycling)
  • Tom Mazzone (cycling)
  • Catherine Reid (athletics)
  • Bevan Rodd (rugby)
  • Rebecca Storrie (triathlon)
  • Sophie Taylor (equestrian)
  • Max Walker (cycling)